‘Not enough memory’ error during export in Lightroom

I’m using Lightroom version 3.4.1 on a Windows XP 32 bits system with 4GB Ram. And I’m getting this error during exporting (creating a jpg) a photo. Not always but after several exports. As if the memory is hogged or something. Now it is strange because on my old computer with only 2GB I never had this problem. Googling around I tried several things. Cache size, Cache on different drive, Windows paging files (Normally I have them turned off) … but nothing helped. Then I turned the Windows ‘system restore’ off (I also had this ‘off’ on my old pc), and this seems to do the trick. I haven’t seen the ‘Not enough memory’ error yet. Fingers crossed.

Edit: Nope the above trick did not solve it. The error came back. But I tried some other stuff. Having a quad core processor (AMD A8-3850) I did toy with the ‘Set Processor Affinity’ in the Windows Task Manager on the running Lightrooom.exe. Just putting 1 core active and I could export without error while on 4 cores it gave the error. So perhaps it is a multi-thread related issue. I dunno. But after finding this by accident I googled and found other ppl ‘solving’ this error in the same way. Read http://forums.adobe.com/thread/655942

Edit2: I still get the error from time to time. Now, I go out of ‘Development’ back into ‘Library’, I view a few photo’s and then back into ‘Development’. It sometimes seems to do the trick. Weird.

Edit3: Since my blogpost I have moved from XP 32 bit to Windows 7, HP 64 bit SP1 on that same AMD A8-3850 based computer and have no(!) problems anymore.

— Max

This entry was posted in Tech and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ‘Not enough memory’ error during export in Lightroom

  1. Armand says:

    I have been plagued by this same issue over and over, and like you, I did not have this issue on a dual core notebook. Now, I have a new i5 quad core and get this over and over. I notice that this happens more if I create any adjustment masks with the brush tool.
    I have tried everything you suggested and still have the issue.
    It is really bad, so much that I have two or three photos that just will never be able to export. :(

    • Max Qubit says:

      Sorry to hear. Since my blogpost I have moved from XP 32 bit to Windows 7, HP 64 bit SP1 on that same AMD A8-3850 based computer and have no(!) problems anymore.

      • Armand says:

        Ok, I was hoping to hear of some resolution. I am running Win7 32bit, 4GB ram Intel i5 Quad-core, so it is very strange. I can literally see the memory usage climb to 1.5GB when I access a photo that I have made brush adjustment masks on.

      • Max Qubit says:

        Yep frustrating and weird. Perhaps it is the 64 bits which makes it work with quad cores? (at least the problem for me seems to have stopped once I migrated to Win7 64 bits)

        Edit: Oh, and I’m now using the 64 bit version of Lightroom too! Perhaps that is significant.

  2. Melinda says:

    That has happened to me several times as well, but it gives you the ones that didn’t upload…if you go to library and look at the ones that didn’t export and then export them again, it works!

  3. Do you guys already have a fix for this? I am running L3 using Win7 32bit Intel i5 and I encounter this error when I do a lot of ‘spot removal’ on a picture.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

