Sigma DP1x versus Nikon D5100 + 18-55 mm kit

I recently have bought a Sigma DP1x, just for fun to have something different, something ‘special’ and a device which is not for the masses. The Sigma DP1x has drawbacks when you compare it with a simple P&S. And the Sigma DP1x has also drawbacks when compared to a normal DSLR. But the Sigma DP1x has one very fun and ‘specal’ advantage over both the P&S and normal DSLR … the Sigma DP1x can produce incredible pictures;) Appearently this is due to the good optics and the Foveon sensor. I like tech and specs, but in the end just the result counts. So I won’t bother you with tech and specs (just google them) but will throw 2 shots at you.

I took a shot from my backyard, through the window. With the Nikon D5100 + 18-55 mm kit, and the Sigma DP1x. With settings close enough. ISO 100, F/4, 28 mm (wide), 1/20 s, RAW. I performed some sharpening but left the rest untouched. I resized the Nikon output to 2640×1760 which is the same as the Sigma DP1x output.

Now you will see 2 shots more or less out-of-the-box. Just compare them. You will see that the Sigma DP1x is much sharper. Of course sharpening is not everything, and working on the Nikon RAW can produce great results, but still, the out-of-the-box results do say something. The Sigma DP1x did cost me 320 Euro’s. I could have used that money for a lens … but why yet another lens? The Nikon kit 18-55 mm is quality enough for me, and another lens would not add THAT much difference to the package. Besides I already have the 35 mm f/1.8. And I have a Canon S95 too … Nope, I just wanted something ‘different’, something ‘special’. Enter the Sigma DP1x;)

Garden Nikon 5100 + kitNikon D5100 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6G VR, 28 mm (on 35 mm scale), f/3.5, ISO 100, 1/20 sec, RAW (2013)

Garden Sigma DP1xSigma DP1x, 28 mm (on 35 mm scale), f/4, ISO 100, 1/20 sec, RAW (2013)

But, all is not lost for the Nikon. After working a bit on the RAW with Lightroom 4 I get this;)Garden Nikon 5100 + kit (processed)

Errmm, which would be unfair to the Sigma DP1x to leave it like that, so here with some processing;)Garden Sigma DP1x (processed)

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

