Digitizing old slides (first experiment)

My father was a fanatic amateur photographer. I’m now in the possession of a lot of negatives and slides. Amongst those are 6×6 (cm) slides. Nearly 100 of those are from a trip my parents made to Russia in 1970. They were one of the first westerners to visit Russia. So those slides are kind of special, showing classic communistic Russia still at the height of its power. I want to digitize those slides. Of course I could go pro and pay deerly, but I like to experiment and do it cheapo. I started with a very simple setup (yes, you may laugh:) just to see if there is any quality to get from this. I’m not disappointed. Using the D5100 with the Sigma 17-50 to take a RAW picture of the slide.

The slide itself is not worth much. I think my father’s finger is visible on the slide too:) I took this slide from the collection, which is still with my mother, just to experiment. Some other slides are much more interesting. Just saying:)

The setup (Lamp, white paper and slide)

Slide scan 1

Feeding the RAW into Lightroom, which has a very powerful straitening tool

Slide scan 2

The end result (I’m not disappointed)

Slide scan 3

Next I will experiment with a light table. I bought a cheap one (30 euros). To see if this is better.

Equipment used: Nikon D5100 + Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC (OS) HSM, Lightroom 5

Edit: Improved setup with Light table

WP_20160131_23_03_38_Raw

My father

This entry was posted in Photography, Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Digitizing old slides (first experiment)

  1. Pingback: Digitizing old slides (second experiment) | Encounters with Reality

  2. Pingback: Digitizing old negatives (third experiment) | Encounters with Reality

Leave a Reply

